On December 11th, Czech Softball Gala was held. The very best players, coaches, and umpires were awarded, Gabriel Waage was inducted into the Czech Softball Hall of Fame.

This was the 6th celebrational season closing for Czech Softball. Players, coaches, umpires, officials, parents, and fans met in suits and ties to take a look back at the 2019 season. Despite a lower number of medals, the community celebrated important steps in the development of the sport in their country. National Teams improved their programs and got closer to the desired professional approach while considering the amateur-sports conditions. More than anything, the guests highlighted a very successful year when it comes to organizing tournaments; the Czech Republic held an outstanding WBSC Men's Softball World Championship, and also Women's European Championship.

National Team Retirements

The full hall gave a standing ovation to all National Team players (and a coach) who announced their retirement from the National Team: Ludmila Kučerková, David Mertl, Jiří Nezbeda, Patrik Kolkus, Petr Vácha, Tomáš Petr, Václav Svoboda, Tomáš Kusý (men's head coach).

Czech Hall of Fame

Gabriel Waage, president of the Czech Softball Association was inducted into the Czech Hall of Fame. Waage has been a Czech Softball Association Executive Council member since its foundation in 1993, he’s been the President of Czech Softball since 2002. He is currently a member of the Czech NOC Executive Board and a member of the NOC Foreign Relations Committee. He's been very active in international softball; within ESF since 2004, ESF president since 2017. The biggest highlight of his career for Czech Softball was bringing the Men's World Championship to the home soil.

The best players, coaches, and umpires of the season were awarded. Here's the list of the awarded:

Bet Junior (female)Magdaléna KavanováSaBaT Praha
Best Junior (male)Vít KočíPainbusters Most
Best Batter (female)Eliška ThompsonováEagles Praha
Best Batter (male)David MertlSpectrum Praha
Best Pitcher (female)Veronika PeckováŽraloci Ledenice
Best Pitcher (male)Jaroslav BreníkŽraloci Ledenice
Most RBI Michael Pecková / Julie CoufalováŽraloci Ledenice / Joudrs Praha
Most HRDavid MertlSpectrum Praha
MVP (female)Eliška ThompsonováEagles Praha
MVP (male)Jaroslav BerníkŽraloci Ledenice
Coach of Youth (female)Monika JanotkováCats Brno
Coach of Youth (male)Ondřej RočekTempo Praha
Coach - Women's Extraleague / juniorsMiroslav MatunaŽraloci Ledenice
Coach - Men's Extraleague / juniorsDušan BorbélyLocos Břeclav
The Personality of the YearDušan BorbélyLocos Břeclav
Umpire of the YearMichal Židek
Umpire - Talent of the YearMichaela Bendová
Umpire - Talent of the YearLubomír Vystrčil

Eliška Thompsonová (MVP, Best Batter)

Dušan Borbély (Coach of the Year, Personality of the Year)

-Helena Novotná-